Borderline Ballroom


bb-poster15Friday, October 24, 2008
7:30pm until 10:30pm

The Chapel, Christchurch Music Centre, 140 Barbadoes St,

presented in association with the Borderline Ballroom:

175 EAST

$ 20/10

“Forget what you have heard about modern composition/art music being a tuneless music, this is music bursting with life: joyous, demanding, exploratory, perplexing, occasionally irritating and phenomenally generous in its rewards. ”

Currently on a national tour, 175 East make their first Christchurch appearance in 4 years in a double bill with Silencio.


175 EAST

“These concerts feature the welcome return of our good friends Johnny Chang (violin/viola) and Richard Haynes (clarinets) and we’re also pleased to have Dylan Lardelli (guitar) as a guest performer, something we’ve been trying to organize for some time.

Unlike some musical ensembles who’ve recently announced their new programmes, we’re proud to say that—last time we looked—all of the composers whose music we’re playing are alive, and most of them are New Zealanders. The oldest warhorse in the concerts dates from 1986 and our October programme includes the world premieres of five pieces, four of them written especially for 175 East.

Those four pieces, all scored for the full 175 East ensemble are:

‘Chamber Concerto’ by Christchurch composer Patrick Shepherd.

‘picnic at limbo ledge’, written by Tim Bowman and inspired by the paintings of Bill Hammond, whose ‘Picnic 2’ adorns our concert poster.

‘To Exist, Press The Green Button’ a visceral piece by young Irish composer Ann Cleare

‘ …eran volumen terrenal, sonido…’ by John Croft which features cellist Katherine Hebley.

As well as these substantial pieces there’s Christopher Fox’s ‘schwebende Zeit’ which features Dylan Lardelli on electric guitar and EBow, Alexandra Hay’s beautiful clarinet duet ‘part/s’, the New Zealand premiere of Salvatore Sciarrino’s study in shaded noise ‘Esplorazione del bianco II’, Pat Shepherd’s bass clarinet solo ‘lick’ and Chris Watson’s intricate trio ‘…vers libre…’

A real feast of new music.”

More details on the music in the concert and its composers can be found here:



Silencio Ensemble will be performing the second of three concerts of newly commissioned work by local composers. Nine composers from a variety of jazz and classical backgrounds have composed new works for these concerts, which specifically focus on Canterbury composition.

The composers for this first series are: Chris Cree-Brown, Tom Rainey, Chris Adams, Reuben Derrick, Michael Bell, Clemency Gilmour, Catherine Wells, Alex van den Broek and Chris Reddington.

The emphasis of this project is to help enrich contemporary composition in Canterbury by bridging the ensemble with the work of local composers and to present them to a variety of new audiences.